20
Jul
13

Are you a continuous learner?

What are you doing to challenge yourself to learn today, to grow and become more equipped?  How are you identifying new tools, new responses, new approaches so that you have more to offer today then you did yesterday?

It is certainly possible to attend 40 hours of CPE a year without learning.  That’s not the “learning” I’m talking about.  What has changed or transformed you lately?  Anything?

I found several blogs about continuous learning I want to share with you.  One is about where continuous learning fits within a model to prepare you for the next stage in your career.  Another is about learning to equip yourself.  Don’t stagnate with what you learned in school, or the tasks you were trained on the job.   The technical standards side of accounting is in constant change, just go to the FASB project roster to see evidence of that.  The technology we leverage advances before its even implemented – what is your approach to stay ahead?

Benjamin Franklin said “Tell me and I forget.  Teach me and I remember.  Involve me and I learn.”  I know I learn best from actively engaging in a discussion.  How do you learn best? If its by being involved, how are you involved?  Are you reading books, periodicals or blogs?  Are you taking a class online or are you teaching a class for others?  Are you speaking at an event?  Commit yourself to learn in whatever way is most effective for you.   Be disciplined to following through.

0 Responses to “Are you a continuous learner?”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Archives

July 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Categories

Awards

Online Accounting Degree blog feature

